H.C. Ørsteds Institute

The Niels Bohr Institute is a strong unification of the four physical sciences at Copenhagen University. The Astronomical Observatory, the Ørsted Laboratory, The Geophysical Institute and the Niels Bohr Institute.

Danish research and education in chemistry was established in 1778. In 1963, the department of Chemistry moved to the H.C Ørsteds Institute. At this point the largest chemical research institute.
In addition to the Department of Chemistry, the Ørsted Institute contains the department of Mathematics and part of the department of Physics, and named after the famous Danish Scientist Hans Christian Ørsted.